QUESTIONS ABOUT MARIJUANA & MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARDS IN PORTLAND, OR

FAQ

Here are some FAQ’s (frequently asked questions) about Oregon’s medical marijuana program, how to obtain a card and some answers to questions about the recreational legalization that will go into effect in July, 2015.

You can always call or visit Bridge City Collective and our experts will gladly answer any questions you may have.

Oregon Recreational Marijuana Laws - Bridge City Collective

The legalization of marijuana in Oregon.

No. Only people who have a medical marijuana card can purchase and possess marijuana (see below for how to obtain a card). Legal recreational marijuana possession will not take effect until July 1, 2015. Until then, possession of 1 to 4 ounces is considered a misdemeanor and possessing more is a felony. Possession of less than an ounce remains a non-criminal violation through July 1, 2015.
People 21 and older will be allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana in a public place and up to 8 ounces in their home. You can also have up to four marijuana plants per household.
Marijuana will be available for purchase through retail stores.  Measure 91 requires the OLCC to begin accepting retail license applications by January 4, 2016.
The market will set the cost of marijuana. Any state or local taxes are still being determined.
In your home or another private place.
No. You are not legally allowed to smoke in a public place now or after July 1, 2015. To be clear, do not smoke where you can be seen by the public.
As of now, DUI Marijuana is still on the books as a crime. Even if you have a medical card, you cannot legally drive while under the influence of marijuana.
No. Only approved, medical marijuana cardholders may buy marijuana from a state licensed dispensary. Card holders must bring their card with them to medical dispensaries.

How To Obtain An Oregon Medical Marijuana Card.

The Oregon medical marijuana card is the ID required for patients to purchase medical marijuana at a licensed medical marijuana dispensary. You will need this card plus a valid, personal ID (i.e. drivers license) to allow you to purchase marijuana legally.
At any one time, every patient in Oregon may have 24 ounces of medical marijuana – in total.

You may also have up to 6 mature medical marijuana plants, and up to 18 starts or seedlings.

You can purchase it at a state licensed dispensary like Bridge City Collective. You will have to register with us on your first visit by showing your medical marijuana card and personal ID. You can also grow your medical marijuana or name someone to grow it for you.
In total, you should expect to pay approximately $375 per year for your medical marijuana card. This is a combination of clinic and state fees. Clinic fees generally cost around $175 per card, per year. The state card-issuing fee is $200 per card, per year for most people ($250 if you name someone else to grow your Medical Marijuana for you).

Some people are eligible for a reduced cost. If you receive food stamps, it will cost you $60 (naming someone else to grow for you will mean your fee is $110). If you are on the Oregon Health Plan (OHP), the fee for the card will be $50 (naming someone else to grow for you will mean your fee is $100). The fee is $20 if the patient receives SSI (Supplemental Security Income). Naming someone else to grow for you will mean your fee is $70. Social Security and Disability patients do not receive this discount. The fee is also $20.00 if the patient is a disabled Veteran that is receiving VA disability benefits. The discount for disabled veterans is given for the following two scenarios only: You are receiving 100% service connected disability, or you are receiving a needs-based pension for a non-service connected disability.

There is a fee of $100 to replace any lost or stolen OMMP card, or to reprint cards due to changes in the patients’ grower, grow site, caregiver, etc.

You will need to determine if you have a medical condition that allows you to obtain medical marijuana in Oregon. The following are the only conditions for which patients may use Medical Marijuana in Oregon.

Cancer; Glaucoma; testing positive for HIV/AIDS; Alzheimer’s and PTSD.

You can also get a card for severe pain (the most often cited reason for obtaining a card); severe nausea; muscle spasms; seizures and Cachexia.

Evaluation must start with the patient’s medical records.

Yes. Oregon state law requires that all patients prove that they possess one of the conditions for which the use of medical marijuana has been authorized. A doctor at a Medical Marijuana clinic will make a final determination on your eligibility based on your medical history including chart notes, lab reports, etc.
The easiest way is to complete an “Authorization to Request Medical Records” at a clinic. Some patients do not want their doctor to know that they are requesting medical marijuana authorization and they will have to go to their doctor and request their records. They do not have to disclose why.
The doctor will perform a non-invasive physical exam, basic vital signs will be taken, and the doctor will ask you about your medical history. They may ask about treatments you have received, medications you have been prescribed, specialists or test results, etc. They will discuss the use of Medical Marijuana in various forms with you. At the conclusion of a successful consultation, they will sign your recommendation to use medical marijuana.
You will need to mail the entire application package, via certified mail, to the OMMP office in Portland. Most clinics will assist you with this by making all the necessary copies, ensuring that all the forms are completed correctly, provide you with the correct mailing materials, and give you a check list so that you are assured that your submission is done properly.

Application packages contain the following:

  • A state application form listing the name and address of the patient, who (if anyone) the patient names as a caregiver, and the person that the patient has designated as their grower.
  • A signed and dated “Attending Physician’s Statement” which will be completed by the clinic doctor. Once the doctor has signed the recommendation, the patient has 90 days to mail the forms before the doctor’s signature expires and the patient must go through the entire process again.
  • Copies of the photo ID’s of everyone listed on the state application. These must be government issued ID’s – a state ID card, driver’s license, or military ID card.
  • Payment to the state of Oregon for one year’s participation in the Oregon Medical Marijuana program. This fee is $200.00 a year, unless you are receiving food stamps, Oregon Health Plan benefits, SSI (Supplemental Security Income), or are receiving VA disability benefits.
This process will take at least 30 to 45 days. However, you may begin using Medical Marijuana before the card arrives, provided that you have 2 things in your possession:

    • The first is copies of all of the materials that you submitted to the state.
    • The second is your proof of the date that you submitted the application packet. This is why you must send it by certified mail. Your postmarked certified mail receipt provides the proof of the date that you mailed the application to Portland, and when attached to your safety packet, has the same legal effect as the state-issued card. You may also drive to the OMMP office in Portland and submit your packet in person.